Your Proactive Caregiver Advocate: Dr. Cynthia Speaks!

Dr. Cynthia J. Hickman
1 min readMay 28, 2021

Topic: Unexpected Mail in a Caregiver Experience

Have you ever been so focused on stuff and things, your daily routines, and your to-do list you forget to check your mailbox? We all are guilty of moving like the unexpected will never happen to us. Well, the unexpected happened to me!

My husband was hospitalized this week and the Proactive Caregiver Advocate was back on duty, except it was active duty. I am glad he is on the road to recovery. I was reminded that the same medicine I give to others, must be take occasionally.

While we concern ourselves with others, checking our own mailbox often is really a good practice. It’s Proactive…RIGHT? If your mailbox is like mine, I get so much junk mail, but real mail that requires attention is in there as well. My husband was “real mail” that needed attention(FYI-he retired from the postal service). I am glad I nursed him back to health, provided for him, meeting his needs on the road to recovery. “I tell you what, I’m so happy to be a servant in the caregiving space.” Embrace the golden moments of your space and time.

Be well!

--

--

Dr. Cynthia J. Hickman

Dr. Hickman is the author of From the Lens of Daughter, Nurse, and Caregiver: A Journey of Duty and Honor and The Black Book of Important for Caregivers.